Massachusetts – Lemon Law, mass lemon law.#Mass #lemon #law


Posted On Apr 13 2018 by

Massachusetts Used Vehicle Warranty Law

The Used Vehicle Warranty Law provides you with protections and remedies, including mandatory repairs, refunds, or repurchases. It does not cover all vehicles or all defects, and not all problems will qualify your vehicle for repurchase. If you purchased a vehicle fewer than 14 days ago, the fastest way to get relief may be through the Lemon Aid Law. The law applies to used cars, vans, trucks and demonstration vehicles not covered by the New Car Lemon Law, and which:

  1. are sold by a Massachusetts dealer or private party.
  2. cost at least $700 (dealer sales only).
  3. have fewer than 125,000 miles on the odometer when sold (dealer sales only).

Demonstration or executive vehicles are covered under the law under certain circumstances. You must first determine whether the vehicle meets the requirements of the New Car Lemon Law. You may use the Used Vehicle Warranty Law only if you do not qualify to be accepted for the New Car Lemon Law.

Vehicles Not Covered: The following are not covered under the Used Vehicle Warranty Law:

  1. motorcycles, mopeds, dirtbikes;
  2. leased vehicles;
  3. auto homes, and vehicles built primarily for off-road use;
  4. any vehicle used primarily for business purposes, or purchased by, owned by or registered to a business

Defects Covered

Only defects that impair your vehicle’s use or safety are covered. Defects are not covered if they:

  1. affect appearance only;
  2. are covered by the manufacturer’s express warranty and the dealer assures that the repairs were made;
  3. are caused by negligence, abuse, vandalism, or accidents unrelated to the defect;
  4. are caused by repair attempts made by someone other than the dealer, its agent, or the manufacturer; or
  5. are caused by substantial change made by you to the vehicle (such as installing a sunroof that was not part of the vehicle when you bought it).

Warranty Length

The coverage depends on the mileage of the vehicle at the time of purchase as outlined below:

Mileage Warranty Period

whichever comes first

  • 40,000 to 79,999 miles: 60 days or 2,500 miles,

    whichever comes first

  • 80,000 to 124,999 miles: 30 days or 1,250 miles,

    whichever comes first

  • 125,000 miles or over: No express warranty
  • If the true mileage of the vehicle is unknown at the time of the sale, the warranty period is calculated according to the age of the vehicle as outlined below:

    Age of Vehicle Warranty Period

    • 3 years old or less: 90 days/3,750 miles, whichever comes first
    • More than 3 and less than 6 years old: 60 days/2,500 miles, whichever comes first
    • More than 6 years old: 30 days/1,250 miles. whichever comes first

    Warranty Extension

    Your warranty is extended by one day for each day the vehicle is out of service for repairs, and by one mile for each mile it is driven while repairs are being made. In addition, any repair performed on a covered defect during the warranty period carries its own 30-day warranty. This warranty begins the day the repair is completed and can continue after the original warranty on the car as a whole expires.

    Mass lemon law

    the JE Robison Service

    more up-to-date info, tips and tricks

    to keep you and your car happy together

    JE Robison Service Company, Inc.

    347 Page Boulevard, Springfield, Massachusetts 01104 USA

    Phone 413-785-1665 Fax 413-785-0970

    website design and production Impress Design





    Last Updated on: April 13th, 2018 at 11:50 am, by


    Written by admin


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *